- When will my wine order ship?
- Do you ship to PO Boxes?
- How much does it cost to ship your wine and what about free shipping?
- How do returns, missed deliveries, and cancellations work?
- Why do you need my birthdate?
- Why don't you ship to every state or why can't I get all the wine I want shipped to me?
We have great success getting wine orders into the hands of UPS within 3 business days. We often ship faster, but due to fluctuating order volume, please don't worry or feel it necessary to contact customer service to check on your shipment unless you don't get a shipment notice email 3 business days after you place your order with us, or within 5 days during our wine sales.
We use UPS for our shipping. Unfortunately, we are unable to deliver to a Post Office Box. Please provide your physical address for delivery and your billing address for credit card processing.
In most cases, it is illegal for us to ship alcohol for free. But realizing that shipping can be expensive, we will ship for a flat rate of $9 per case or partial case when you spend over $200 on that order with us. With the weight of a case of wine, this gives you significant savings. We want your wine to arrive safely and undamaged, so we go to extra lengths to pack your wine for shipping. (Please note when ordering online: the $9 per case shipping is only visible when you reach the confirmation page; the non-discounted shipping rate appears until that point.)
If you're ordering less than $200, that's ok too. UPS calculates shipping based on zones, so the cost of your shipping depends on the weight of your order and how far it is traveling. So, it will cost a bit more to ship to California from our winery in Virginia than to ship to North Carolina, and more for expedited shipping than standard ground shipping. UPS sets their rates, we do not, but we use UPS because they have proven to be fairly priced, reliable, and dependable.
Normally, wine cannot be returned, though there are exceptions. When you order wine, if it cannot be delivered in three attempts, UPS will return it to Chateau Morrisette. If this occurs, we must charge you the entire shipping cost again in order to re-ship your wine, or you may request a refund of charges at that time, and we will refund the amount of your purchase less all shipping and return handling charges. Canceled orders are subject to a 15% restocking fee.
You must be 21 to purchase and receive alcohol. We check every order to ensure compliance with current state regulations. In many cases, this means checking your name and birthday with your state's records. If the name and birthday do not match, you may need to call customer service to complete your order. UPS will require someone 21 or older to sign for your wine at delivery.
We can ship gift items and tickets to any state. However, each state has different laws and regulations when it comes to shipping alcohol. Some states prohibit shipping alcohol completely while other states are prohibitively expensive for us to register all of our wines. Your state may also regulate alcohol shipping amounts; in most cases (not all) we are limited to shipping a maximum of two cases a month to the same person.